Frederick Douglass Day 2021

Frederick Douglass Day will be Saturday, September 25, 2021 in Easton, MD.
The virtual event will be here and on the Frederick Douglass Day Facebook page.

Videos and links will also be posted below at the times listed. Please refresh your browser to see the videos as they are updated.

Please help support the Frederick Douglass Honor Society by donating online at:
Be sure to specify the Frederick Douglass Honor Society or just type FDHS.

10am: Frederick Douglass Welcome Ceremony

Join us as we kick off our annual Frederick Douglass celebration and the 10th Anniversary of our amazing Frederick Douglass Statue. The ceremony features Mistress of Ceremonies Brenda Wooden, President of the Frederick Douglass Honor Society, a libation (led by Harriette Lowery) in honor of Douglass and all those who benefitted from his work, music by Morgan State University, Terron Quailes and the US Navy Band Sea Chanters. Speakers include Phylicia Rashad, Maryland Governors Martin O’Malley and Larry Hogan, Dr. David Blight Yale University, Dr. Celeste-Marie Bernier (Edinburgh University), Mayor Robert C. Willey, Talbot County Councilman Corey Pack, Talbot County Free Library Director Dana Newman, Helga Einhorn (Talbot County Public Schools Assistant Superintendent), Rabbi Peter Hyman, Brandon Coleman, and Cameron McCoy. Terron Quailes will share a collection of remarks by Frederick Douglass.





Laura Era unveils her portrait in oils of Anna Murray Douglass as Kenneth Morris, Jr. shares his story about his great-great-great grandmother. The elegantly framed portrait is presented to Director Dana Newman and donated to the Talbot County Free Library by Ms. Era, owner of the prestigious Troika Gallery in Easton, MD..

Frederick Douglass Day Children's Village

A special collection of virtual activities for young children offers a wealth of fun as they learn about Frederick Douglass through story time readings by Shauna Beulah, Talbot County Free Library – St. Michaels Branch Director, Zoom background, memes and opportunities to win fun experienced-based prizes, from a visit to the Maryland Zoo Baltimore or the National Aquarium, a ride aboard the Oxford Bellevue-Ferry, membership to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum and a variety of gift certificates. Join us at:





11:30 am
The World Honors Frederick Douglass

The Frederick Douglass Honor Society is pleased to share their new film “The World Honors Frederick Douglass” bringing together people, places, statues and memorials across our nation and abroad paying homage to Frederick Douglass and the footprints he has left over the past two centuries. The first Douglass statue was dedicated in 1899 in Rochester, New York and statues, plaques, and memorials continue to be unveiled around the globe today.


12:30 pm: Frederick Douglass Day - Scholars' Book Reviews

Dr. David Blight (Director of the Gilder-Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance and Abolition, Yale University) reviews Picturing Frederick Douglass written by Dr. John Stauffer, Zoe Trodd and Celeste-Marie Bernier. Dr. John Stauffer, Summer R. and Marshall S. Kates, Professor of English and of African-American Studies, Harvard University reviews Dr. Blight’s Pulitzer Prize Winning biography Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom. Dr. Celeste-Marie Bernier, Professor of U.S. and Atlantic Studies, University of Edinburgh, reviews The Portable Frederick Douglass by Frederick Douglass, edited by John Stauffer and Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

All three books are available locally at The Flying Cloud Booksellers on Dover St. in Easton, MD.




1 pm - Frederick Douglass Day 2021 Live Presentations

Pulitzer Prize Winner Dr. David Blight and Keidrick Roy, a PhD Candidate in American Studies at Harvard University, share the lecture spotlight this year. Keidrick Roy began the lecture on Frederick Douglass and following Dr. David Blight’s lecture viewers asked questions about the Frederick Douglass. Join us on the Frederick Douglass Day Facebook page to enjoy the lecture and be a part of the questions and answers.








Frederick Douglass Day Extras


Marcel Umphrey talks about Frederick Douglass: Real Estate Investor -

Chesapeake Forum presents Dr. David Blight's virtual lecture on Frederick Douglass: In His Time and In Ours -

Statues of Change, a film about the making of the Fredrick Douglass and Harriette Tubman statues in the Maryland State House.

Visit The Douglass Tour website to learn more about the Rochester monuments and the Frederick Douglass Airport project:








Frederick Douglass Day 2021 Committee:

Brenda Wooden, Frederick Douglass Day Chair 
Clairdean Black, Treasurer
Paulette Brooks, Facebook Manager
Elizabeth North, Children's Village Chair
Debbi Dodson, PR/Marketing Chair, Virtual Event Director 
Timothy Young, Graphic Designer & Virtual Event Producer

Shauna Beulah
Walter Black
Childlene Brooks
Gelson Brooks
Yvonne Freeman
Carolyn Hayman
Anna Howie
Kirk Howie
Denice Lombard  
Harriette Lowery
Dana Newman
Corey Pack
William Peak
Lori Ramsey
Edward Boots Robinson
Lamont Thompson
Mayor Robert Willey
Jeannie Whitesell
Vickie Wilson

Children's Village Volunteers:

Christina Drostin
Mary Lou Malone
Lamont Thompson

Photographers for Children’s Village

Charlotte Cluverius
David Klevan
Katie Martin
Elizabeth North
Ed Tatko

Children’s Village Prize Donors

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore
National Aquarium
Oxford Bellevue Ferry
TJ Max




©2020 Frederick Douglass Honor Society, All Rights Reserved.
Home Who We Are What We Do talbot fdhs